Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:

Satu Mare

Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Teleorman County

Teleorman is a county (judet) of Romania, in the historical region Muntenia, with its capital city at Alexandria.

The name Teleorman is of cumanic (Turkic) origin and means crazy forest (Deli orman). This term meaned in the cuman language thick and shadowy forest. It and can be encountered in other toponyms, such as the turkish name of the Ludogorie Plateau in northeastern Bulgaria.


In 2002, it had a population of 436,025 and the population density was 75/km².

Romanians - 96.76%
Roma - 3.18%

Year County population
1948 487,394
1956 510,488
1966 516,222
1977 518,943
1992 483,840
2002 436,025


This county has a total area of 5,790 km².

Two distinctive elements can be found:

  • In the North and center there are plains from the Romanian Plain. They are separated by small rivers, which sometimes form deep valleys.
  • In the South there is the Danube valley, very wide, with ponds and small channels.

Beside the Danube, the main river crossing the county is the Olt River which flows into the Danube close to the village of Islaz. Other important rivers are: the Vedea River, the Teleorman River and the Calmatui River.


  • Giurgiu County in the East.
  • Olt County in the West.
  • Arges County and Dâmbovita County in the North.
  • Bulgaria in the South - Veliko Tarnovo Province and Pleven Province.


The predominant industries in the county are:

  • Food and beverages industry.
  • Textile industry.
  • Chemical industry.
  • Mechanical components industry - in Alexandria there is a big roll-bearing enterprise.

Agriculture is the main occupation in the county. Both extensive agriculture, and small scale - vegetables and fruits for Bucharest markets, is practiced. The area is well suited for irrigations.


The county doesn't have many spectacular attractions, but its cultural folk heritage is very rich. Many Romanian personalities have been born here, some of them later describing the life in a village in a very picturesque way. Also, the area was a place where the Romanian Revolution from 1848 unfolded.

The main tourist destinations are:

  • The city of Alexandria.
  • Fishing on the Danube and other lakes or ponds.


Administrative divisions

The county has 3 municipalities, 2 towns and 92 communes.


  • Alexandria - capital city; population: 59,308
  • Rosiori de Vede
  • Turnu Magurele


  • Zimnicea - the southernmost locality in Romania
  • Videle


  • Babaita
  • Balaci
  • Beciu
  • Beuca
  • Blejesti
  • Bogdana
  • Botoroaga
  • Bragadiru
  • Brânceni
  • Bujoreni
  • Bujoru
  • Buzescu
  • Calinesti
  • Calmatuiu
  • Calmatuiu de Sus
  • Cervenia
  • Ciolanesti
  • Ciuperceni
  • Contesti
  • Cosmesti
  • Crângu
  • Crevenicu
  • Crângeni
  • Didesti
  • Dobrotesti
  • Dracea
  • Dracsenei
  • Draganesti de Vede
  • Draganesti-Vlasca
  • Fântânele
  • Frasinet
  • Frumoasa
  • Furculesti
  • Galateni
  • Gratia
  • Islaz
  • Izvoarele
  • Lisa
  • Lita
  • Lunca
  • Magura
  • Maldaeni
  • Mârzanesti
  • Mavrodin
  • Mereni
  • Mosteni
  • Nanov
  • Nasturelu
  • Necsesti
  • Nenciulesti
  • Olteni
  • Orbeasca
  • Peretu
  • Piatra
  • Pietrosani
  • Plopii-Slavitesti
  • Plosca
  • Poeni
  • Poroschia
  • Purani
  • Putineiu
  • Radoiesti
  • Rasmiresti
  • Saceni
  • Saelele
  • Salcia
  • Sârbeni
  • Scrioastea
  • Scurtu Mare
  • Seaca
  • Segarcea-Vale
  • Sfintesti
  • Silistea
  • Silistea Gumesti
  • Slobozia Mândra
  • Smârdioasa
  • Stejaru
  • Storobaneasa
  • Suhaia
  • Talpa
  • Tatarastii de Jos
  • Tatarastii de Sus
  • Tiganesti
  • Traian
  • Trivalea-Mosteni
  • Troianul
  • Uda-Clocociov
  • Urluiu
  • Vârtoape
  • Vedea
  • Viisoara
  • Vitanesti
  • Zâmbreasca