Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Sibiu County

Sibiu is a county (judet) of Romania, in the historical region Transylvania, with the capital city Sibiu.


In 2002, it had a population of 421,724 and the population density was 78/km².

At the 2002 census the county has the following population indices:

Romanians - 90,6% (or 382,061)
Hungarians - 3,6% (or 15,344)
Romas - 4,1% (or 17,125)
Germans - 1,6% (or 6,554)
Other - 0,1% (or 640)


Orthodox - 88,9%
Greek catholics - 2,3%
Reformed - 2,0%
Catholics - 1,5%
Pentecostals - 1,1%
Baptists 0,9%
Other - 3,3%

Urbanisation - 5th most urbanised county in Romania:

City dwellers: 277,574 (or 65,8%)
Village dwelers: 144,150 (or 34,2%)

Traditionally, the biggest minority in the county were Germans, but their numbers have decreased in recent history.

The south side of the county, closer to the mountains was mainly inhabited by Romanians (Marginimea Sibiului), and the north side of the country - the Transylvanian Plateau was inhabited evenly by Germans and Romanians, but most Saxon villages are now deserted. The Roma population, mainly from southern Romania was placed close to the villages in the communist period and have since increased their numbers.

Year County population
1948 335,116
1956 372,687
1966 414,756
1977 481,645
1992 452,873
2002 421,724


This county has a total area of 5,432 km².

In the South side there are the Carpathian Mountains (Southern Carpathians) - Fagaras Mountains with heights over 2500 m, Lotru and Cindrel which make up to 30% of the county's surface. The Olt River crosses the mountains over to the South of Romania in Sibiu County forming one of the most accessible link between Transylvania and Wallachia. In the North side there is the Transylvanian Plateau.

The most important rivers crossing the county are the Olt River in the South with Cibin its main affluent, and the Târnava River in the North.


  • Brasov County in the East.
  • Alba County in the West.
  • Mures County in the North.
  • Vâlcea County in the South.
  • Arges County in the South-East.


Sibiu County has one of the most dynamical economies in Romania, being one of the regions with the highest level of foreign investment.

The predominant industries in the county are:

  • Machine and automotive components.
  • Food industry.
  • Textile industry.
  • Wood industry.
  • The biggest natural resource in the county is natural gas, especially in the north side, having one of the largest sources in the country.

In Copsa Mica during the communist period there were two chemical industrial complexes which polluted the environment heavily with carbon black, heavy metals and other chemical substances. That's why the area is still considered one of the most polluted communities in Europe. Fortunately, after 1989 many of the industrial complexes were shut down and the area is slowly recovering.


The main tourist attractions in the county are:

  • The city of Sibiu with its medieval fortifications and its historic centre.
  • The medieval city of Medias.
  • The medieval Saxon fortified churches and villages from Transylvania, some of them being UNESCO World Heritage Sites:
    - Biertan.
    - Valea Viilor.
    - Cisnadie.
    - Cisnadioara.
    - Slimnic.
    - Agnita.
  • The abbey of Cârta
  • The Fagaras Mountains.
    - The Bâlea Valley and the Transfagarasan.
    - The Negoiu Peak.
  • Paltinis mountain resort and the Cindrel Mountains.
  • Ocna Sibiului, Bazna and Miercurea Sibiului Spa towns.
  • The Marginimea Sibiului rural area.

Administrative divisions

The county has 2 municipalities, 9 towns and 53 communes


  • Sibiu - capital city; population: 170,038
  • Medias


  • Agnita
  • Avrig
  • Cisnadie
  • Copsa Mica
  • Dumbraveni
  • Miercurea Sibiului
  • Ocna Sibiului
  • Saliste
  • Talmaciu


  • Altâna
  • Apoldu de Jos
  • Arpasu de Jos
  • Atel
  • Axente Sever
  • Bazna
  • Bârghis
  • Biertan
  • Blajel
  • Boita
  • Brateiu
  • Bradeni
  • Bruiu
  • Chirpar
  • Cârta
  • Cârtisoara
  • Cristian
  • Dârlos
  • Dealu Frumos
  • Gura Râului
  • Hoghilag
  • Iacobeni
  • Jina
  • Laslea
  • Loamnes
  • Ludos
  • Marpod
  • Merghindeal
  • Micasasa
  • Mihaileni
  • Mosna
  • Nocrich
  • Orlat
  • Pauca
  • Poiana Sibiului
  • Poplaca
  • Porumbacu de Jos
  • Racovita
  • Rasinari
  • Râu Sadului
  • Rosia
  • Sadu
  • Slimnic
  • Seica Mare
  • Seica Mica
  • Selimbar
  • Sura Mare
  • Sura Mica
  • Tilisca
  • Târnava
  • Turnu Rosu
  • Valea Viilor
  • Vurpar