Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Prohova County

Prahova is a county (judet) of Romania, in the historical region Muntenia, with the capital city at Ploiesti.


In 2002, it had a population of 829,945 and the population density was 176/km². It is Romania's most populated county, having a population density double than the country's mean. However, it seems that it was surpassed in 2006 by Iasi County in terms of population.

Romanians - 97.74%
Rromas, others.

Year County population
1948 557,776
1956 623,817
1966 701,057
1977 817,168
1992 874,349
2002 829,945


This county has a total area of 4,716 km².

The relief is split in approximately equal parts between the mountains, the hills and the plain. In the North side there are mountains from the southern end of the Eastern Carpathians - the Curved Carpathians group; and the Bucegi Mountains the Eastern end of the Southern Carpathians group. The two groups are separated by the Prahova River Valley.

The South side of the county is a plain, on the North West side of the Romanian Plain.

The main river is the river that names the county - the Prahova River. It flows from the mountains, through the Prahova Valley collecting many other rivers - the Doftana River, the Teleajen River and others.


  • Buzau County in the East.
  • Dâmbovita County in the West.
  • Brasov County in the North.
  • Ialomita County and Ilfov County in the South.


The area contains the main oil reserves in Romania having a long tradition in extracting and refining the oil. The county is heavily industrialised, more than 115,000 people being involved in an industrial activity. It realises over 8% of the country's industrial production. Some of the biggest international corporations like Coca Cola, Unilever, Interbrew, Michelin, Timken and others have invested heavily in the recent years.

The predominant industries in the county are:

  • Oil industry - almost 50% of the county's industrial production.
  • Oil extracting equipment.
  • Chemical industry.
  • Rubber industry.
  • Mechanical components industry.
  • Food and beverages industry.
  • Textile industry.

Agriculture is also developed - in the southern part mainly extensive agriculture and the hills area is well suited for wines and fruit orchards. In total it realises about 3% of the country's agricultural production.


The Prahova Valley is one of the areas with the highest tourist potential in the country having one of the best tourism facilities in Romania.

The main tourist destinations are:

  • On the Prahova valley:
    - The Sinaia Resort.
    - The Busteni Resort.
    - The Azuga Resort.
    - The Bucegi Mountains.
  • On the Teleajen River Valley:
    - The Valenii de Munte Resort.
    - Cheia.
    - Slanic.
    - The Zaganul Mountains
    - The Ciucas Mountains.
  • On the Doftana River Valley:
    - The Teleaga Resort.
    - Valea Doftanei.
    - The Gârbova Mountains.
  • The city of Ploiesti.


Administrative divisions

The county has 2 municipalities, 12 towns and 89 communes.


  • Ploiesti - capital city; population: 253,068
  • Câmpina


  • Azuga
  • Baicoi
  • Boldesti-Scaeni
  • Breaza
  • Busteni
  • Comarnic
  • Mizil
  • Plopeni
  • Sinaia Slanic
  • Urlati
  • Valenii de Munte


  • Adunati
  • Albesti-Paleologu
  • Alunis
  • Apostolache
  • Aricestii Rahtivani
  • Aricestii Zeletin
  • Baba Ana Balta Doamnei
  • Baltesti
  • Banesti
  • Barcanesti
  • Batrâni
  • Berceni
  • Bertea
  • Blejoi
  • Boldesti-Gradistea
  • Brazi
  • Brebu
  • Bucov
  • Calugareni
  • Carbunesti
  • Ceptura
  • Cerasu
  • Chiojdeanca
  • Ciorani
  • Cocorastii Mislii
  • Cocorastii Colt
  • Colceag
  • Cornu
  • Cosminele
  • Draganesti
  • Drajna
  • Dumbrava
  • Dumbravesti
  • Filipestii de Padure
  • Filipestii de Târg
  • Fântânele
  • Floresti
  • Fulga
  • Gherghita
  • Gorgota
  • Gornet
  • Gornet-Cricov
  • Gura Vadului
  • Gura Vitioarei
  • Iordacheanu
  • Izvoarele
  • Jugureni
  • Lapos
  • Lipanesti
  • Magurele
  • Magureni
  • Maneciu
  • Manesti
  • Olari
  • Pacureti
  • Paulesti
  • Plopu
  • Podenii Noi
  • Poiana Câmpina
  • Poienarii Burchii
  • Posesti
  • Predeal-Sarari
  • Provita de Jos
  • Provita de Sus
  • Puchenii Mari
  • Râfov
  • Salcia
  • Salciile
  • Scorteni
  • Secaria
  • Sângeru
  • Sirna
  • Soimari
  • Sotrile
  • Starchiojd
  • Stefesti
  • Surani
  • Talea
  • Tataru
  • Teisani
  • Telega
  • Tinosu
  • Târgsoru Vechi
  • Tomsani
  • Vadu Sapat
  • Valea Calugareasca
  • Valea Doftanei
  • Varbilau
  • Vâlcanesti