Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Neamt County

Neamt is a county (judet) of Romania, in the historic region Moldavia region, with the county seat at Piatra Neamt.


In 2002, it had a population of 557,000 and a population density of 99/km².

Romanians - 98.66%
Hungarians - 0.05%
Rromas - 1.08
Lipovans - 0.07%, and others

Year County population
1948 357,348
1956 419,949
1966 470,206
1977 532,096
1992 578,420
2002 554,516


This county has an area of 5,896 km².

The relief decreases from west to east. In the western part, there are mountains, the Eastern Carpathians, with heights over 1800 m and the impressive peak of Mount Ceahlau. Along the Bicaz River lies the stunning canyon of Cheile Bicazului. Construction of the Bicaz Dam in the 1950s on the Bistrita River led to the formation of the Lake Bicaz (Izvorul Muntelui Lake), Romania's largest artificial lake.

On the western side, the lowest point, at about 160 m, is found along Siret River's valley.


  • Iasi County and Vaslui County in the East.
  • Harghita County in the West.
  • Suceava County in the North.
  • Bacau County in the South.


County's main industries:

  • Chemical industry;
  • Mechanical parts;
  • Textiles;
  • Food stuffs;
  • Construction materials.

One of the greatest dams in Romania, the Bicaz Dam is built along the Bistrita River, forming the Bicaz Lake; the water of the lake is used for electricity production at Stejaru Powerplant.


Neamt county is known as the region with the most monasteries to be found per square kilometer in the world. The monumental church of Neamt Monastery has been a model for Moldavian churches and monasteries. The Moldavian art style, of great originality and stylistic unity, was developed by blending Gothic elements with Byzantine motifs. There are lots of cultural and historical landmarks in Neamt County. County's main tourist attractions:

  • The city of Piatra Neamt, with its medieval square;
  • The city of Roman
  • The Monasteries of Neamt County:
    - Agapia Monastery
    - Bistrita Monastery
    - Durau Monastery
    - Horaita Monastery
    - Neamt Monastery
    - Pângarati Monastery
    - Petru Voda Monastery
    - Secu Monastery
    - Sihastria Monastery
    - Sihla Monastery
    - Varatec Monastery
  • Neamt Citadel in Târgu Neamt
  • Ceahlau National Park
  • Bicaz Canyon - "Cheile Bicazului"
  • Durau Ski Resort
  • Hanu Ancutei

Administrative divisions

The county has 2 municipalities, 3 towns and 76 communes.


  • Piatra Neamt - capital city; population: 125,050
  • Roman


  • Bicaz
  • Roznov
  • Târgu Neamt


  • Agapia
  • Alexandru cel Bun
  • Bahna
  • Baltatesti
  • Bârgauani
  • Bicaz-Chei
  • Bicazu Ardelean
  • Bâra
  • Bodesti
  • Boghicea
  • Borca
  • Borlesti
  • Botesti
  • Bozieni
  • Brusturi
  • Cândesti
  • Ceahlau
  • Cordun
  • Costisa
  • Cracaoani
  • Damuc
  • Dobreni
  • Doljesti
  • Dragomiresti
  • Draganesti
  • Dulcesti
  • Dumbrava Rosie
  • Farcasa
  • Faurei
  • Gârcina
  • Gheraesti
  • Ghindaoani
  • Girov
  • Grinties
  • Grumazesti
  • Hangu
  • Horia
  • Icusesti
  • Ion Creanga
  • Margineni
  • Moldoveni
  • Negresti
  • Onicen
  • Pastraveni
  • Pângarati
  • Petricani
  • Piatra Soimului
  • Pipirig
  • Podoleni
  • Poiana Teiului
  • Poienari
  • Raucesti Razboieni
  • Rediu
  • Români Ruginoasa
  • Sagna
  • Sabaoani
  • Savinesti
  • Secuieni
  • Stanita
  • Stefan cel Mare
  • Tarcau
  • Tasca Tazlau
  • Tamaseni
  • Timisesti
  • Trifesti
  • Tupilati
  • Tibucani
  • Urecheni
  • Valea Ursului
  • Valeni
  • Vânatori-Neamt
  • Zanesti

    Famous Natives
  • Gheorghe Cartianu, professor, engineer
  • Sergiu Celibidache, conductor
  • Vasile Conta, philosopher
  • Ion Creanga, writer
  • Virgil Gheorghiu, writer
  • Constantin Matasa, archaeologist
  • Nicodim Munteanu, patriach
  • Mihai Traistariu, singer
  • Vasile Traistariu, painter