Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Mehedinti County

Mehedinti is a county (judet) of Romania, in the historical provinces of Oltenia(mostly) and Banat(a little part in the west). Its capital city is Turnu Severin.


In 2002, it had a population of 306,732 and the population density was 62/km².

Romanians - over 96%
Rromas - 3%
Serbs - almost 1%

Year County population
1948 304,788
1956 304,091
1966 310,021
1977 322,371
1992 332,673
2002 306,732


This county has a total area of 4,933 km².

In the North-West there are the Mehedinti Mountains with heghts up to 1500 m, part of the Western end of the Southern Carpathians.

The heights decrease towards the East, passing through the hills to a high plain - the Western end of the Romanian Plain.

In the South the Danube flows, forming a wide valley, with channels and ponds. Other important river is the Motru River in the East side, an affluent of the Jiu River. Also, in the West side there is the Cerna River forming a passage between the Oltenia region and the Banat region.


  • Bulgaria in the South - Vidin Province.
  • Serbia in the South-West - Bor District.
  • Caras-Severin County in the North-West.
  • Gorj County in the North-East.
  • Dolj County in the South-East.


The energetic sector is highly developed in the county, on the Danube being two big hydro electrical power plants. Also in Drobeta-Turnu Severin there is a heavy water complex.

The predominant industries in the county are:

  • Chemical industry.
  • Food and beverages industry.
  • Textile industry.
  • Mechanical components industry.
  • Railway and ship equipments industry.
  • Wood and paper industry.
  • In the North side, coal and copper are extracted.

The South side is mainly agricultural, suited for growing cereals on large surfaces. Also vegetables are cultivated and there are important surfaces of wines and fruit orchards.


The main turistical destinations are:

  • The city of Drobeta-Turnu Severin - the ruins of Trajan's first bridge over the Danube
  • The city of Orsova.
  • The Mehedinti Mountains.
  • The Danube's Iron Gates.
  • Lots of info about this area on

Administrative divisions

The county has 2 municipalities, 3 towns and 61 communes.


  • Drobeta-Turnu Severin - capital city; population: 118,734
  • Orsova


  • Strehaia
  • Vânju Mare
  • Baia de Arama


  • Bâcles
  • Bala
  • Balacita
  • Balta
  • Bâlvanesti
  • Branistea
  • Breznita-Motru
  • Breznita-Ocol
  • Brosteni
  • Burila Mare
  • Butoiesti
  • Cazanesti
  • Ciresu
  • Corcova
  • Corlatel
  • Cujmir
  • Dârvari
  • Devesel
  • Dubova
  • Dumbrava
  • Eselnita
  • Floresti
  • Gârla Mare
  • Godeanu
  • Gogosu
  • Greci
  • Grozesti
  • Gruia
  • Hinova
  • Husnicioara
  • Ilovat
  • Ilovita
  • Isverna
  • Izvoru Bârzii
  • Jiana
  • Livezile
  • Malovat
  • Obârsia de Câmp
  • Obârsia-Closani
  • Oprisor
  • Padina Mare
  • Patulele
  • Podeni
  • Ponoarele
  • Poroina Mare
  • Pristol
  • Prunisor
  • Punghina
  • Rogova
  • Salcia
  • Simian
  • Sisesti
  • Sovarna
  • Stângaceaua
  • Svinita
  • Tâmna
  • Vânatori
  • Vânjulet
  • Vladaia
  • Voloiac
  • Vrata