Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Ialomita County

Ialomita is a county (judet) of Romania, in Muntenia, with the capital city at Slobozia.


In 2002, it had a population of 296,572 and the population density was 67/km².

Romanians make up 95.6% of the population, the largest minority being the Roma people (4.1%)

Year County population
1948 244,750
1956 274,655
1966 291,373
1977 295,965
1992 306,145
2002 296,572


This county has a total area of 4,453 km².

The county is situated in the Baragan Plain, all the area is flat crossed by small rivers with small but deep valleys.

Its east border is on Danube and the Ialomita River crosses the county from West to Eeast about the middle. The Danube is split around the Ialomita Pond - the Old Danube branch and the Borcea branch.

Until 1940 (in the West part) and 1967 (in the East part) the county/plain was home of the great bustard (dropie in romanian), with large populations of this bird. The birds disappeared because of the massive village buildout and hunting them for food.


  • Constanta County in the East.
  • Ilfov County in the West.
  • Braila County, Buzau County and Prahova County in the North.
  • Calarasi County in the South.


The agriculture is the main occupation in the county. Industry is almoast entirely concentrated in the city of Slobozia.

The predominant industries in the county are:

  • Food industry.
  • Textile industry.
  • Mechanical components industry.


The main turistical destinantions are:

  • The city of Slobozia.

Administrative divisions

The county has 3 municipalities, 4 towns and 57 communes.


  • Slobozia - capital city; population: 56,913
  • Fetesti
  • Urziceni


  • Amara
  • Cazanesti
  • Fierbinti-Târg
  • Tandarei


  • Adâncata
  • Albesti
  • Alexeni
  • Andrasesti
  • Armasesti
  • Axintele
  • Balaciu
  • Barbulesti
  • Barcanesti
  • Boranesti
  • Bordusani
  • Brazii
  • Bucu
  • Buesti
  • Cazanesti
  • Ciocârlia
  • Ciochina
  • Ciulnita
  • Cocora
  • Cosâmbesti
  • Cosereni
  • Crasanii de Sus
  • Crasanii de Jos
  • Dragoesti
  • Dridu
  • Facaeni
  • Gârbovi
  • Gheorghe Doja
  • Gheorghe Lazar
  • Giurgeni
  • Grindu
  • Grivita
  • Gura Ialomitei
  • Ion Roata
  • Jilavele
  • Maia
  • Malu
  • Manasia
  • Marculesti
  • Mihail Kogalniceanu
  • Milosesti
  • Moldoveni
  • Ialomita
  • Movilita
  • Munteni-Buzau
  • Ograda
  • Orboiesti
  • Perieti
  • Platonesti
  • Reviga
  • Rosiori
  • Salcioara
  • Sarateni
  • Saveni
  • Scânteia
  • Sfântu Gheorghe
  • Sinesti
  • Sintesti
  • Stelnica
  • Suditi
  • Traian
  • Valea Ciorii
  • Valea Macrisului
  • Vladeni