Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Hunedoara County

Hunedoara is a county (Judet) of Romania, in Transylvania, with its capital city at Deva.


In 2002, it had a population of 485,712 and the population density was 69/km².

Romanians - 92%
Hungarians - 5%
Romas - 2%
Germans under 1%.
On the Jiu River valley, a mining region, due to the high industrialisation of the region a lot of peoples have been brought from other regions of Romania.

Year County population
1948 306,955
1956 381,902
1966 474,602
1977 514,436
1992 547,950
2002 485,712


This county has a total area of 7,063 km².

Mainly, the relief is made up of mountains, divided by the Mures River valley which crosses the county from East to West. To the North side there are the Apuseni Mountains and to the South side there are mountains from the Southern Carpathians group, Parâng Mountains group and Retezat-Godeanu Mountains group: Orastie and Surianu Mountains (South-East), Retezat Mountains (South), Poiana Ruscai Mountains (South-West).

Except from Mures River with its affluents Strei, Rau Mare and Cerna, which forms wide valleys, in the North side Crisul Alb river also forms a valley in the Apuseni Mountains - Zarand region. In the South side along the Jiu River with its two branches West Jiu and East Jiu, there is a large depression, and an accessible route towards Southern Romania - Oltenia.


  • Alba County in the East and North.
  • Arad County, Timis County and Caras-Severin County in the West.
  • Gorj County in the South.


The industry in the Hunedoara county is linked with the mining activity in the region. In the mountains, from ancient times, metals and coal have been exploited. Nowadays, there is one large industrial complex at Hunedoara owned by Mittal Steel . Also energy related enterprises are located in the county - one of the biggest thermoelectric plant is located at Mintia.

The predominant industries in the county are:

  • Metallurgy.
  • Construction materials.
  • Textile industry.
  • Mining equipment.
  • Food industry.

In the 1990s, a large amount of mines were closed down, leaving Hunedoara county with the highest unemployment rate in Romania, of 9.6%, in comparison to the national average of 5.5%.


Retezat National Park and other picturesque regions makes it one of the most beautiful counties in Romania. Also there can be found Dacians and Romans complexes in the Orastie Mountains

The main tourist attractions in the county are:

  • The Dacian Fortresses of the Orastie Mountains - nowadays part of UNESCO World Heritage.
  • Colonia Augusta Ulpia Traiana Dacica Sarmizegetusa - the capital of the Roman province of Dacia.
  • The medieval edifices of Densus, Deva, Hunedoara, Santamaria-Orlea, Strei.
    The Medieval Castle from Hunedoara

Administrative divisions

The county has 7 municipalities, 7 towns and 55 communes.


  • Deva - capital city; population: 77,259
  • Hunedoara
  • Brad
  • Lupeni
  • Orastie
  • Petrosani
  • Vulcan


  • Aninoasa
  • Calan
  • Geoagiu
  • Hateg
  • Petrila
  • Simeria
  • Uricani


  • Baia de Cris
  • Balsa
  • Banita
  • Baru
  • Bacia
  • Baita
  • Batrâna
  • Beriu
  • Blajeni
  • Bosorod
  • Branisca
  • Bretea Româna
  • Buces
  • Bucuresci
  • Bulzestii de Sus
  • Bunila
  • Burjuc
  • Cerbal
  • Certeju de Sus
  • Cârjiti
  • Criscior
  • Densus
  • Dobra
  • General Berthelot
  • Ghelari
  • Gurasada
  • Harau
  • Ilia
  • Lapugiu de Jos
  • Lelese
  • Lunca Cernii de Jos
  • Luncoiu de Jos
  • Martinesti
  • Orastioara de Sus
  • Pestisu Mic
  • Pui
  • Rapoltu Mare
  • Rachitova
  • Ribita
  • Râu de Mori
  • Romos
  • Sarmizegetusa
  • Salasu de Sus
  • Sântamaria-Orlea
  • Soimus
  • Teliucu Inferior
  • Tomesti
  • Toplita
  • Totesti
  • Turdas
  • Vata de Jos
  • Valisoara
  • Vetel
  • Vorta
  • Zam