Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Gorj County


Gorj is a county (judet) of Romania, in Oltenia, with the capital city at Târgu Jiu.

In 2002, it had a population of 387,308 and the population density was 69/km².

Romanians - over 98%
Rromas, others.

Year County population
1948 280,524
1956 293,031
1966 298,382
1977 348,521
1992 401,021
2002 387,308


This county has a total area of 5,602 km².

The North side of the county consists of various mountains from the Southern Carpathians group. In the West there are the Vulcanului Mountains, and in the East there are the Parâng Mountains and the Negoveanu Mountains. The two groups are splited by the Jiu River.

To the South, the heights decrease through the hills to a high plain at the Western end of the Romanian Plain.

The main river, which collects all the smaller rivers, is the Jiu River.


  • Vâlcea County in the East.
  • Mehedinti County and Caras-Severin County in the West.
  • Hunedoara County in the North.
  • Dolj County in the South.


The predominant industries in the county are:

  • Mining equipment industry.
  • Food and beverages industry.
  • Textile industry.
  • Mechanical components industry.
  • Glass industry.
  • Wood industry.

In the North of the county coal is extracted, near Motru and Rovinari. There are two big thermo electrical power plants at Rovinari and Turceni, and some hydro-electrical power plants. The county is the biggest electricity producer in Romania with 36% af the country's electricity.

Due to the decrease in mining activity the county has one of the greatest unemployement levels in the country.


The main tourist destinations are:

  • The city and the area around Târgu Jiu:
    - The Brâncusi monuments.
    - The Tismana Monastery.
  • The Parâng Mountains.
  • The Polovragi Monastery.

Administrative divisions

The county has 2 municipalities, 6 towns and 62 communes.


  • Târgu Jiu - capital city; population: over 100,000 in 2004.
  • Motru


  • Rovinari
  • Bumbesti-Jiu
  • Târgu Carbunesti
  • Turceni
  • Tismana
  • Novaci
  • Ticleni


  • Albeni
  • Alimpesti
  • Aninoasa
  • Arcani
  • Baia de Fier
  • Balanesti
  • Balesti
  • Barbatesti
  • Bengesti
  • Berlesti
  • Bâlteni
  • Bolbosi
  • Borascu
  • Branesti
  • Bumbesti-Pitic
  • Bustuchin
  • Câlnic
  • Capreni
  • Catunele
  • Ciuperceni
  • Crasna
  • Cruset
  • Danciulesti
  • Danesti
  • Dragotesti
  • Dragutesti
  • Farcasesti
  • Glogova
  • Godinesti
  • Hurezani
  • Ionesti
  • Jupânesti
  • Lelesti
  • Licurici
  • Logresti
  • Matasari
  • Musetesti
  • Negomir
  • Pades
  • Pestisani
  • Plopsoru
  • Polovragi
  • Prigoria
  • Rosia de Amaradia
  • Runcu
  • Sacelu
  • Samarinesti
  • Saulesti
  • Schela
  • Scoarta
  • Slivilesti
  • Stanesti
  • Stejari
  • Stoina
  • Tântareni
  • Telesti
  • Turburea
  • Turcinesti
  • Urdari
  • Vagiulesti
  • Vladimir