Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Giurgiu County

Giurgiu is a county (judet) of Romania, in Muntenia, with the capital city at Giurgiu.

In 2002, it had a population of 297,859 and the population density was 84/km².

Romanians - over 96%
Roma - 3.5%, and others.

Year County population
1948 313,793
1956 325,045
1966 320,120
1977 327,494
1992 313,352
2002 297,859


This county has a total area of 3,526 km².

The county is situated on a plain - the Southern part of the Romanian Plain. The landscape is flat, crossed by small rivers. The southern part is the valley of the Danube which forms the border with Bulgaria. In the North, the Arges River and Dâmbovita River flow.


  • Calarasi County in the East.
  • Teleorman County in the West.
  • Ilfov County and Dâmbovita County in the North.
  • Bulgaria in the South - Ruse Province.


The county has two big areas of development: one close to the city of Giurgiu - The Free Trade Zone Giurgiu, and one in the North of the county due to its proximity with Bucharest.

The predominant industries in the county are:

  • Food and beverages industry.
  • Textile industry.
  • Chemical industry.
  • Wood and furniture industry.
  • Mechanical components industry.

Agriculture is the main occupation in the county. Both extensive agriculture, and small scale - for Bucharest markets, is practiced. 59% of the cultivated surface is irrigated.


The county recently became famous for its lautari, especially the group Taraful Haiducilor.

The main tourist destinations are:

  • The city of Giurgiu.
  • Fishing along the Danube.
  • The Calugareni area.

Administrative divisions

The county has one municipality, 3 towns and 51 communes.


  • Giurgiu - capital city; population: 73,260


  • Bolintin-Vale
  • Mihailesti
  • Dealu, Giurgiu


  • Adunatii-Copaceni
  • Baneasa
  • Bolintin-Deal
  • Bucsani
  • Bulbucata
  • Buturugeni
  • Calugareni
  • Clejani
  • Colibasi
  • Comana
  • Cosoba
  • Crevedia Mare
  • Daia
  • Floresti-Stoenesti
  • Fratesti
  • Gaiseni
  • Gaujani
  • Ghimpati
  • Gogosari
  • Gostinari
  • Gostinu
  • Gradinari
  • Greaca
  • Herasti
  • Hotarele
  • Iepuresti
  • Izvoarele
  • Joita
  • Letca Noua
  • Malu
  • Mârsa
  • Mihai Bravu
  • Ogrezeni
  • Oinacu
  • Prundu
  • Putineiu
  • Rasuceni
  • Roata de Jos
  • Sabareni
  • Schitu
  • Singureni
  • Slobozia
  • Stanesti
  • Stoenesti
  • Toporu
  • Ulmi
  • Valea Dragului
  • Vânatorii Mici
  • Varasti
  • Vedea