Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Dambovita County

Dâmbovita is a county (judet) of Romania, in Muntenia, with the capital city at Târgoviste.


In 2002, it had a population of 541,763 and the population density was 134/km². It is one of the most densely populated counties in Romania.

Romanians - 96%
Roma (Gypsies), others.

Year County population
1948 409,272
1956 438,985
1966 453,241
1977 527,620
1992 562,041
2002 541,763


This county has a total area of 4,054 km².

The county's landscape has three main forms. In the north there are mountains from the Southern Carpathians group - the Bucegi Mountains and the Leaota Mountains. In the center there are the sub-Carpathian hills and the southern area is part of the Romanian Plain.

The county's main river gives it its name: the Dâmbovita River. Also the Ialomita River flows in the county's northern and eastern regions, while the Arges River flows in the south.


  • Ilfov County and Prahova County in the East.
  • Arges County in the West.
  • Brasov County in the North.
  • Teleorman County and Giurgiu County in the South.


One of the biggest steel factories in Romania is located In Târgoviste. Also, oil is extracted and refined the county.

The predominant industries in the county are:

  • Metallurgical industry.
  • Oil extraction equipment.
  • Food industry.
  • Home appliances.
  • Textile industry.
  • Chemical industry.
  • Construction materials industry.


The main tourist destinations in the county are:

  • The city of Târgoviste - the ancient capital of Wallachia.
  • The Pucioasa Resort.
  • The Ialomita River Valley - Pestera Ialomicioarei.


Glod, a small village in this area, was used to represent Kazakhstan in the filming of the movie Borat: Cultural Learnings of America for Make Benefit Glorious Nation of Kazakhstan.

Administrative divisions

The county has two municipalities, 4 towns and 76 communes.


  • Târgoviste
  • Moreni


  • Gaesti
  • Pucioasa
  • Titu
  • Fieni


  • Aninoasa
  • Baleni
  • Barbuletu
  • Bezdead
  • Bilciuresti
  • Branistea
  • Branesti
  • Brezoaele
  • Buciumeni
  • Bucsani
  • Butimanu
  • Cândesti
  • Ciocanesti
  • Cobia
  • Cojasca
  • Comisani
  • Contesti
  • Corbii Mari
  • Cornatelu
  • Cornesti
  • Costestii din Vale
  • Crângurile
  • Crevedia
  • Darmanesti
  • Dobra
  • Doicesti
  • Dragodana
  • Dragomiresti
  • Finta
  • Glodeni
  • Gura Foii
  • Gura Ocnitei
  • Gura Sutii
  • Hulubesti
  • I. L. Caragiale
  • Iedera
  • Lucieni
  • Ludesti
  • Lunguletu
  • Malu cu Flori
  • Manesti
  • Matasaru
  • Mogosani
  • Moroeni
  • Morteni
  • Motaieni
  • Niculesti
  • Nucet
  • Ocnita
  • Odobesti
  • Petresti
  • Pietrosita
  • Poiana
  • Potlogi
  • Produlesti
  • Pucheni
  • Racari
  • Razvad
  • Runcu
  • Salcioara
  • Slobozia Moara
  • Selaru
  • Sotânga
  • Tartasesti
  • Tatarani
  • Uliesti
  • Ulmi
  • Vacaresti
  • Valea Lunga
  • Valea Mare
  • Valeni-Dâmbovita
  • Vârfuri
  • Visina
  • Visinesti
  • Voinesti
  • Vulcana-Bai