Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Constanta County

Constanta is a county (judet) of Romania, in Dobruja, with the capital city at Constanta.


In 2002, it had a population of 715,151 and the population density was 101/km². The degree of urbanization is much higher (about 75%) than the Romanian average. In recent years the population trend is:

Year County population
1948 311,062
1956 369,940
1966 465,752
1977 608,817
1992 748,769
1996 747,122
2000 746,988
2002 715,151

The majority of the population are Romanians. There are important communities of Turks and Tatars, remnants of the time of the Ottoman rule. Currently the region is the centre of the Muslim minority in Romania. A great number of Aromanians have migrated to Dobruja in the last century and they consider themselves a cultural minority rather than an ethnic minority. There are also Romas.


The county has a total area of 7,071 km².

Much of the territory of Constanta county comprises a low-lying plateau with a continental semi-arid climate. The Black Sea coast - stretching about 120 km (75 miles) - has a maritime climate with less contrasts than the interior. The average January temperature in Constanta county is 0°C (32°F), while the average July temperature reaches 23°C (75°F).

In the northeastern part of the county there is a lagoon, the Sinoe Lake. On the eastern side of the county flows the Danube.


  • Black Sea to the east
  • Calarasi County and Ialomita County to the west
  • Tulcea County and Braila County to the north
  • Bulgaria (Dobrich Province and Silistra Province) to the south


County's main industries are:

  • Chemical and petrochemical industry
  • Food and beverages industry
  • Textile industry
  • Ship building industry
  • Construction materials
  • Mechanical components industry
  • Paper industry

Agriculture is an important part in the county's economy, with Constanta being the county with the largest irrigations systems in the country (more than 4,300 km² before 1989, now greatly reduced), cereals being the most important products. Also, the county is famous for its wines from the Murfatlar region.

At Cernavoda there is a nuclear power plant with one reactor - CANDU type of Canadian design. It covers over 10% of the country's power demand.

The Constanta Harbour is the largest port in Romania and one of the most important on the Black Sea. It is linked with the Danube by the Danube-Black Sea Canal - the widest and deepest navigable channel in Europe, although not used to its full potential.


The Black Sea littoral is the preferred destination for the summer holidays in Romania. The resorts are:

  • Navodari
  • Mamaia
  • Eforie (North and South)
  • Costinesti
  • Olimp
  • Neptun
  • Jupiter
  • Cap Aurora
  • Venus
  • Saturn
  • Mangalia
  • 2 Mai
  • Vama Veche

Also worth visiting are:

  • The city of Constanta
  • The mausoleum from Adamclisi
  • The Portita area

Administrative divisions
The county has 3 municipalities, 8 towns and 52 communes.


  • Constanta
  • Mangalia
  • Medgidia


  • Basarabi
  • Cernavoda
  • Eforie
  • Hârsova
  • Navodari
  • Negru Voda
  • Ovidiu
  • Techirghiol


  • 23 August
  • Adamclisi
  • Agigea
  • Albesti
  • Aliman
  • Amzacea
  • Baneasa
  • Baraganu
  • Castelu
  • Cerchezu
  • Chirnogeni
  • Ciobanu
  • Ciocârlia
  • Cobadin
  • Cogealac
  • Comana
  • Corbu
  • Costinesti
  • Crucea
  • Cumpana
  • Cuza Voda
  • Deleni
  • Dobromir
  • Dumbraveni
  • Fântânele
  • Gârliciu
  • Ghindaresti
  • Gradina
  • Horia
  • Independenta
  • Ion Corvin
  • Istria
  • Limanu
  • Lipnita
  • Lumina
  • Mereni
  • Mihai Viteazu
  • Mihail Kogalniceanu
  • Mircea Voda
  • Nicolae Balcescu
  • Oltina
  • Ostrov
  • Pantelimon
  • Pecineaga
  • Pestera
  • Poarta Alba
  • Rasova
  • Saligny
  • Saraiu
  • Sacele
  • Seimeni
  • Silistea
  • Târgusor
  • Topalu
  • Topraisar
  • Tortoman
  • Tuzla
  • Valu lui Traian
  • Vulturu