Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Cluj County

Cluj (Hungarian: Kolozs); is a county (judet) of Romania, in Transylvania, with the capital city at Cluj-Napoca.


In 2002, it had a population of 702,755 and a population density of 105/km².

Romanians - 79.4%
Hungarians - 17.4%
Roma - 2.8%

Year County population
1948 520,073
1956 580,344
1966 629,746
1977 715,507
1992 736,301
2002 702,755


This county has a total area of 6,674 km². About 1/3 of this surface are mountains -- the Apuseni Mountains, with heights up to 1800 m and located in the Southwest part of the county. The rest of the surface is the North side of the Transylvanian Plateau, a hilly region with deep and wide valleys.

The main rivers in the county are Somesul Mic, Aries, and Crisul Repede.


  • Bihor County to the West.
  • Mures County and Bistrita-Nasaud County to the East.
  • Salaj County and Maramures County to the North.
  • Alba County to the South.


Cluj County has one of the most dynamic economies in Romania. It is a region with one of the highest ratings of foreign investments. In addition, Cluj-Napoca is home to one of Romania's important IT and financial services centers.

County's main industries are:

  • Mechanical components;
  • Wood processing;
  • Glass manufacturing;
  • Pharmaceutics and cosmetics;
  • Food stuffs processing;
  • Textiles.

Mining and natural gas extraction are also developed.


The main tourist destinantion:

  • The city of Cluj-Napoca.
  • The Apuseni Mountains especially the caves Pestera Mare, Pestera Piatra
  • Ponorului, Pestera Vârfurosu.
  • The historical centers of Turda, Dej, Gherla, Ciucea.
  • The winter resort of Baisoara
  • The lakes of Belis and Tarnita


Babes-Bolyai University Technical University University of Medicine and Pharmacy "Iuliu Hatieganu"

Administrative divisions

The county has 5 municipalities, one town and 75 communes.


  • Cluj-Napoca
  • Turda
  • Dej
  • Câmpia Turzii
  • Gherla


  • Huedin


  • Aghiresu
  • Aiton
  • Alunis
  • Apahida
  • Aschileu Mare
  • Baciu
  • Baisoara
  • Belis
  • Bobâlna
  • Bontida
  • Borsa
  • Buza
  • Caianu
  • Calatele
  • Camarasu
  • Capusu Mare
  • Caseiu
  • Catina
  • Câtcau
  • Ceanu Mare
  • Chinteni
  • Chiuiesti
  • Ciucea
  • Ciurila
  • Cojocna
  • Cornesti
  • Cuzdrioara
  • Dabâca
  • Feleacu
  • Fizesu Gherlii
  • Floresti
  • Frata
  • Gârbau
  • Geaca
  • Gilau
  • Iara
  • Iclod
  • Izvoru Crisului
  • Jichisu de Jos
  • Jucu
  • Luna
  • Maguri-Racatau
  • Manastireni
  • Margau
  • Marisel
  • Mica
  • Mihai Viteazu
  • Mintiu Gherlii
  • Mociu
  • Moldovenesti
  • Negreni
  • Palatca
  • Panticeu
  • Petrestii de Jos
  • Ploscos
  • Poieni
  • Râsca
  • Recea-Cristur
  • Sacuieu
  • Sandulesti
  • Savadisla
  • Sâncraiu
  • Sânmartin
  • Sânpaul
  • Sic
  • Suatu
  • Tritenii de Jos
  • Tureni
  • Taga
  • Unguras
  • Vad
  • Valea Ierii
  • Viisoara
  • Vultureni


  • Nearsova
  • Pâglisa
  • Rascruci