Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Caras Severin County

Caras-Severin Serbian and Croatian: Karaš-Severin; Hungarian: Krassó-Szörény, Bulgarian:is a county (judet) of Romania, in historical region Banat, with the county seat at Resita.

The county is part of the Danube-Kris-Mures-Tisa euroregion.

In 2002, it had a population of 333,219 and a population density of 39/km².

The majority of the population (88.24%) are Romanians. There are also Roma (2.37%), Croats (1.88%), Germans (1.84%), Serbs (1.82%), Hungarians (1.74%) and Ukrainians (1.05%).

Year County population
1948 302,254
1956 327,787
1966 358,726
1977 385,577
1992 376,347
2002 333,219


With 8,514 km², it is the third largest county in Romania, after Suceava and Timis counties. It is also the county through which the Danube River enters Romania.

The mountains make up 67% of the county's surface, including the Southern Carpathians range, with Banat Mountains, Tarcu-Godeanu Mountains and Cernei Mountains and elevations between 600 and 2100 m. Transition hills between mountains and the Banat Plain lie in the western side of the ocunty.

The Danube enters Romania in the vicinity of Bazias, bordering Serbia. Timis, Cerna, Caras and Nera cross the county, some of them through spectacular valleys and gorges.


  • Hunedoara County and Gorj County to the east.
  • Timis County to the north.
  • Mehedinti County to the southeast.
  • Serbia to the southwest:
    - Vojvodina Autonomous Province to the west - South Banat okrug.
    - Bor District and Branicevo District to the south.

History and Economy

In 1718 the county was part of the Habsburg Monarchy of Austria, in its province named Banat. The county seat, Resita, was founded in 1771 and became a modern industrial center during the Austrian occupation. The area received considerable attention due to its mines industry. In 1855, the entire Banat area, with its supplies of mineral deposits and timber, was transferred from the Austrian Treasury to an Austrian and French mining and railroad company named STEG. STEG built the Oravita-Bazias line -- Romania's oldest railroad track. After World War I, STEG, Banat and most of Austro-Hungarian property were taken over by a company named UDR. The arrival of the communist regime in Romania after WWII and that regime's campaign of nationalization of the mining industry brought tremendous social upheaval in the area.

Tourist attractions

Archaeological findings show the area has been populated since Paleolithic times. There is a County Museum of History in Resita, displaying archeological artifacts, and, in the town of Ocna de Fier, the Constantin Gruiescu Mineralogical Collection. The county hosts the regional daffodil and lilac festivals in the Spring. Sites worth visiting:

  • Cheile Nerei - Beusinta National Park;
  • Semenic - Cheile Carasului National Park;
  • Domogled - Valea Cernei National Park;
  • Danube Iron Gate National Park;
  • Semenic resort;
  • Baile Herculane resort.


President of County Council - Iosif Secasan Democratic Party
Vicepresidents - Horia Irimia, National Liberal Party and Tilica Pîrvulescu

Administrative divisions

The county has 2 municipalities, 6 towns, and 69 communes..


  • Resita
  • Caransebes


  • Anina
  • Baile Herculane
  • Bocsa
  • Moldova Noua
  • Oravita
  • Otelu Rosu


  • Armenis
  • Bania
  • Bautar
  • Berliste
  • Berzasca
  • Berzovia
  • Bolvasnita
  • Bozovici
  • Brebu
  • Brebu Nou
  • Buchin
  • Bucosnita
  • Carasova
  • Carbunari
  • Ciclova Româna
  • Ciuchici
  • Ciudanovita
  • Constantin Daicoviciu
  • Copacele
  • Cornea
  • Cornereva
  • Coronini
  • Dalboset
  • Doclin
  • Dognecea
  • Domasnea
  • Eftimie Murgu
  • Ezeris
  • Fârliug
  • Forotic
  • Gârnic
  • Glimboca
  • Goruia
  • Gradinari
  • Iablanita
  • Lapusnicel
  • Lapusnicu Mare
  • Luncavita
  • Lupac
  • Marga
  • Maureni
  • Mehadia
  • Mehadica
  • Naidas
  • Obreja
  • Ocna de Fier
  • Paltinis
  • Pojejena
  • Prigor
  • Racasdia
  • Ramna
  • Rusca Montana
  • Sacu
  • Sasca Montana
  • Sichevita
  • Slatina-Timis
  • Socol
  • Sopotu Nou
  • Târnova
  • Teregova
  • Ticvaniu Mare
  • Toplet
  • Turnu Ruieni
  • Valiug
  • Varadia
  • Vermes
  • Vrani
  • Zavoi
  • Zorlentu Mare



  • Agadici