Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Brasov County

Brasov Hungarian: Brassó) is a county (judet) of Romania, in Transylvania, with the capital city at Brasov. The county incorporates within its boundaries most of the Medieval "lands" (tari) Burzenland and Fagaras Land.

In 2002, it had a population of 589,028 and the population density was 110/km².

Romanians - 87.28%
Hungarians - 8.65%
Romas - 3.10%
Ethnic Germans - 0.75%

Year County population
1948 300,836
1956 373,941
1966 442,692
1977 582,863
1992 643,261
2002 589,028

Traditionally the Romanian population was concentrated in the West and South-West of the County, the Hungarians are in the East part of the county, and the Germans were in the North and around Brasov city.


The county has a total area of 5,363 km².

The South side comprises the Carpathian Mountains (Southern Carpathians and Eastern Carpathians) with Fagaras Mountains, Bucegi Mountains, Piatra Mare Mountains, Piatra Craiului Mountains and Postavaru Mountains. In the east side there is the Brasov Depression, and in the west side there is the Olt River valley. Between them there are the Persani Mountains.

The North and West side of the county is crossed by the Olt River.


  • Covasna County in the East.
  • Sibiu County in the West.
  • Mures County and Harghita County in the North.
  • Arges County, Dâmbovita County and Prahova County in the South.



Brasov is one of the most prosperous regions of Romania and has a tradition in industry. During WWII, IAR 80 and towards the end of the war Bf109, fighter aircraft were built in Brasov. During the communist period it was heavily industrialised, and its heritage were some very large industrial complexes. Some of them managed to survive and adapt to the capitalist type market economy, some of them didn't, leaving behind them a high rate of unemployement. Due to new investments, mainly foreign ones, the economy managed to partially recover.

The predominant industries in the county are:

  • Mechanical and automotive industry.
  • Chemical industry.
  • Construction materials.
  • Food industry.

Tourist attractions

Brasov contains some of the most attractive tourist destinations in Romania.

The main tourist attractions in the county are:

  • The city of Brasov.
  • Poiana Brasov mountain resort.
  • Predeal mountain resort.
  • Bran with its castle often referred to as Dracula's castle.
  • The Fagaras Mountains.
  • The medieval fortresses of Fagaras and Râsnov.
  • The Fortified churches from the Saxon villages in the Burzenland area.

Administrative divisions

The county has 4 municipalities, 6 towns and 47 communes.


  • Brasov (Brassó, Kronstadt)
  • Fagaras (Fogaras)
  • Codlea (Feketehalom)
  • Sacele (Hétfalu)


  • Ghimbav (Vidombák)
  • Predeal
  • Râsnov (Barcarozsnyó)
  • Rupea (Kohalom)
  • Sânpetru - site of a famous fossil bed found in the 19th century
  • Victoria
  • Zarnesti (Zernyest)


  • Apata
  • Augustin
  • Beclean
  • Bod
  • Bran
  • Budila
  • Bunesti
  • Cata
  • Halchiu
  • Cincu
  • Comana
  • Cristian
  • Crizbav
  • Dragus
  • Dumbravita
  • Feldioara
  • Fundata
  • Halchiu
  • Harman
  • Hârseni
  • Hoghiz
  • Holbav
  • Homorod
  • Jibert
  • Lisa
  • Mândra
  • Maierus
  • Moieciu
  • Ormenis
  • Parau
  • Poiana Marului
  • Prejmer
  • Racos
  • Recea
  • Sercaia
  • Sinca
  • Sinca Noua
  • Sâmbata de Sus
  • Sânpetru
  • Soars
  • Tarlungeni
  • Teliu
  • Ticusu
  • Ucea
  • Ungra
  • Vama Buzaului
  • Vistea
  • Voila
  • Vulcan