Romania Government
  Government and politics
  National holidays
  Sports in Romania
  Image Galery
  Internatinal rankings
  External links

Romania is divided into forty-one counties (judete), as well as the municipality of Bucharest (Bucuresti), which is its own administrative unit. Each county is administered by a county council (consiliu judetean), responsible for local affairs, as well as a prefect, who is appointed by the central government but cannot be a member of any political party. In alphabetical order, the counties are:


Alongside the county structure, Romania is also divided into eight development regions, which correspond to NUTS-II divisions in the European Union, but which have no administrative capacity and are instead used for co-ordinating regional development projects and statistical purposes. The country is further subdivided into 2686 communes, which are rural localities, and 265 towns. Communes and towns have their own local councils and are headed by a mayor (primar). Larger and more urbanised towns gain the status of municipality, which gives them greater administrative power over local affairs.


Arad County

Arad is a county (judet) of Romania, in Crisana, with the capital city at Arad (population: 185,272).

In 2002, it had a population of 461,791 and the population density was 60/km².
Romanians are the majority of the county's population. The ethnic minorities are the Hungarians, Ethnic Germans and Rromas.

Year County population
1948 476,207
1956 475,620
1966 481,248
1977 512,020
1992 487,617
2002 461,791

This county has a total area of 7,754 km².

In the east there are the Zarand Mountains from the Apuseni Mountains group. In the west the heights decrease towards the Western Romania Plain.

The county is crossed in the south side by the Mures River and in the north side by the Crisul Alb River


  • Hunedoara County and Alba County in the East.
  • Hungary in the West - Békés County and Csongrád County.
  • Bihor County in the North.
  • Timis County in the South.

The county is also part of the Danube-Kris-Mures-Tisa euroregion.

Along with Timis County forms one of the most developed regions in Romania. Due to its proximity to the border, it attracts a great number of foreign investments.

The predominant industries in the county are:

  • Machine and automotive components.
  • Food.
  • Textiles.

Tourist attractions
The main tourist destinations are:

  • The city of Arad
  • Lipova resort
  • Moneasa resort
  • The areas around Savârsin, Peris, Macea and Pecica.

Administrative divisions
The county has one municipality, 9 towns and 68 communes.


  • Arad


  • Chisineu-Cris
  • Curtici
  • Ineu
  • Lipova
  • Nadlac
  • Pâncota
  • Pecica
  • Sântana
  • Sebis


  • Almas
  • Apateu
  • Archis
  • Bata
  • Bârsa
  • Bârzava
  • Beliu
  • Birchis
  • Bocsig
  • Brazii
  • Buteni
  • Carand
  • Cermei
  • Chisindia
  • Conop
  • Covasânt
  • Craiva
  • Dezna
  • Dieci
  • Dorobanti
  • Fântânele
  • Felnac
  • Frumuseni
  • Ghioroc
  • Graniceri
  • Gurahont
  • Halmagiu
  • Halmagel
  • Hasmas
  • Ignesti
  • Iratosu
  • Livada
  • Macea
  • Misca
  • Moneasa
  • Olari
  • Paulis
  • Peregu Mare
  • Petris
  • Pilu
  • Plescuta
  • Savârsin
  • Secusigiu
  • Seleus
  • Semlac
  • Sintea Mare
  • Socodor
  • Sagu
  • Seitin
  • Sepreus
  • Sicula
  • Silindia
  • Simand
  • Siria
  • Sistarovat
  • Sofronea
  • Taut
  • Târnova
  • Ususau
  • Varadia de Mures
  • Vârfurile
  • Vinga
  • Vladimirescu
  • Zabrani
  • Zadareni
  • Zarand
  • Zerind
  • Zimandu Nou


  • Clit
  • Chelmac
  • Fiscut